WPL 2023 : UP Warriorz captain Alyssa Healy

UP Warriorz captain Alyssa Healy

UP Warriorz name Australia’s¬†Alyssa Healy¬†as captain for the inaugural WPL season

We have all been eagerly anticipating the WPL, and the UP Warriorz have a superb team that is ready to make a splash once play begins, Alyssa Healy says.

Australia opener Alyssa Healy is scheduled to captain WPL squad UP Warriorz at the inaugural edition of the competition starting March 4. Healy, one of the six foreign players for Warriorz, was chosen as captain instead of Deepti Sharma, a native of Uttar Pradesh.

UP Warriorz captain Alyssa Healy
UP Warriorz captain Alyssa Healy

“The WPL is a tournament we have all been eagerly anticipating,” Healy said in a statement released by the Warriorz. “The UP Warriorz have a strong squad, itching to making a splash once things get starting.” “We are talented and have a fantastic balance of experience and youth. We are looking forward to entertaining our audience. We are playing a vicious kind of cricket with the intention of winning.”

In addition to winning the ODI World Cup in New Zealand last year, Healy has won five T20 World Cups (2010, 2012, 2014, 2018, and 2020). She has scored 2446 T20I runs at a strike rate of over 128 with one century and 14 half-centuries. While regular captain Meg Lanning took a vacation from the game, Healy captained the Australia T20I team in India recently. Healy has led the Sydney Sixers in the WBBL as captain as well.

Also Read : Aiden Markram to lead Sunrisers Hyderabad

Lauren Bell, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Shabnim Ismail, and Sophie Ecclestone are the other five international players on the Warriorz team. Together with Deepti, some other well-known Indian names present are Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, and Kiran Navgire.

Jon Lewis of England will serve as the head coach of the Warriorz team, with Anju Jain serving as his assistant and Ashley Noffke serving as his bowling coach. The squad mentor will be Lisa Sthalekar, a World Cup victor.

UP Warriorz Squad:

  • Alyssa Healy (capt)
  • Sophie Ecclestone
  • Deepti Sharma
  • Tahlia McGrath
  • Shabnim Ismail
  • Anjali Sarvani
  • Rajeshwari Gayakwad
  • Parshavi Chopra
  • Shweta Sehrawat
  • S Yashasri
  • Kiran Navgire
  • Grace Harris
  • Devika Vaidya
  • Lauren Bell
  • Laxmi Yadav
  • Simran Shaikh.

Leave a Comment